Achievement

Often times people will ask you about your greatest achievement. Yesterday during a mock interview with AIGA Iowa I was asked such a question. At the time I was cut off and didn’t get a chance to answer, but ever since I have been thinking about it.

For most of high school life and beyond I have had the same greatest achievement. This was my track success. During my sophomore year I got my best personal record and during my junior year I went to state. These two accomplishments in themselves have been the most moving thing in my life. Up until today.

Today is the change of accomplishments. A few weeks ago I entered four of my art pieces into the 41st Annual Juried Student Show at Drake University. I had hopes that maybe this year one of my pieces would get selected. Well surprise, surprise not one but two of my pieces were selected. The opening for the show… is today.

It is approximately 38 minutes till the show opens and I cannot feel anything other than excitement. I have never had my work shown on this level before. Sometimes there are achievements that you stumble upon, such as having my art shown because the professor planned all of the work to be shown. Other achievements you have to earn, such as this one. The juror had no idea who I was or what I am like in class. She still selected my work as one that everyone else should see. What an honor.

So today I celebrate my new greatest achievement. And I urge you to come help me celebrate this achievement at the show or just by coming to view my work in the Anderson Gallery sometime before the exhibit closes at the end of March. I never thought I would replace the love and passion of my track achievement, but I guess it truly shows my priorities are now focused more on my career rather than my hobbies.

Leave a Reply

