Don’t Forget, Forever Save

Design

I am an avid believer that when you create work there are no bad ideas. In design especially one will come up (usually) with numerous ideas for the same project, maybe 30 different illustrations for a logo, 10 different suggestions for a book design, and 17 different ways to create a package. Often times people will have all these ideas then go with one.

How many different ideas have been left in the dust?

Are this ideas valid for any other purpose?

YES THEY ARE VALID!!

One never knows when an old idea could be helpful again. Perhaps the 8th version of a logo you created in 2007 might be helpful in a package design in 2013. You never know. This is why I believe that one should save everything. Keep the older versions of projects, keep the sketches, don’t trash any of it.

Since you have already worked on the piece in the past that knowledge is stored somewhere in your brain. When coming up with a new idea there might be a click, “oh, oh, oh, where are those logo sketches for that small restaurant?” But without the actual files or physical documentation you might not be able to connect the ideas together solidly. It will be like the word that is on the tip of your tongue.

Life.

I have had the unfortunate privilege of loosing friendships in my life. Certain times relationships have fallen through because of a small mishap or even relocating to a different area. Lately I have started back on some of those old roads rekindling fires that have once gone out.

She was my best friend, in my life for 11 years. But something tore us apart. I didn’t talk to her at all. Her phone number was deleted and our friendship was effectively washed away in both the physical and digital world. A woman that meant the world to me I could no longer talk to, just remember what we had.

Upon a visit back to Wisconsin I decided to gather a few twigs and see if I could start a small flame. We talked. There was a glimmer of hope. It turned into getting lunch the next day. In which case it wasn’t awkward. There was potential for silence and just reminiscing of past situations. However it was actually progressive. It was strange to realize how much had changed in the 4 years we hadn’t been friends.

There was a long time in my life that I regretted our put out fire. I was frustrated with our relationship change and I just wanted it back. I have come to realize it is never something I can get back. It was a relationship. Now we are started down a new one. But even in that time we didn’t completely destroy the opportunity for a fire.

I almost feel as if it is like keeping sketches or ideas for design. Our friendship was full previously but it wasn’t right for the project. Upon numerous years later and because of new influences the relationship could start to exist again. It isn’t the same, but it doesn’t need to be. The project has changed, we have changed, there is now opportunity for it to develop into something new.

Leave a Reply

